History of the (Royal) Military College of Science

- (1840 Establishment of the Royal Artillery Institution, Woolwich)
- 1864 Advanced Class for the training of gunner officers started
- 1899 Renamed the Ordnance College First Commandant appointed
- 1918 Renamed the Artillery College
- 1927 Renamed Military College of Science By 1939 there were 4 departments:-Mathematics and Gunnery Physics Chemistry and Metallurgy Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Also military branch dealing with Fire Control Instruments
- 1939 Site moved to Lydd in Kent
- 1940 Lydd site closed Fire Control Instruments School established at Bury in Lancashire Artillery Equipment School established at Stoke-on-Trent
- 1942 School of Tank Technology founded at Chobham
- 1944 Committee set up by the Army Council to consider the post-war technical training of Army Officers, which lead to the introduction of degree courses, postgraduate courses and the Army Staff Course.
- 1946 Stoke, Bury and Chobham sites moved to Shrivenham, taking over a military camp built at the beginning of the war in the grounds of Beckett Estate.
- 1953 Conferred the title Royal Military College of Science by Her Majesty the Queen

2004 Royal Military College of Science disbanded